A Dictionary of Angels: Including the Fallen Angels by Gustav Davidson

Image Posted on Updated on

A Dictionary of Angels: Including the Fallen Angels by Gustav DavidsonA Dictionary of Angels: Including the Fallen Angels by Gustav Davidson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The result of sixteen years of research in Talmudic, gnostic, cabalistic, apocalyptic, patristic, and legendary texts, the classic reference work on angels is beautifully illustrated and its reissue coincides with the resurgence of belief in angels in America.

Everything from the reflective introduction, which I read with such gusto that I was ten minutes late for work, to the compartmentalized appendix achieves what I have attempted to make logic of in this esoteric universe of angels (including the fallen angels). The thoughts, categorization, confusion, etc. are all the more impressive for the dictionary they birthed. I always strived to make sense of all the contradictions woven into the lore of angels and demons. Now I don’t have to—Gustav Davidson has done the work for me!

Seeing as how my favorite topics to write about/ponder/research are angelic legend and demonic legend, I’m halfway there. All I need now is a dictionary of demons with even half the completion and competence of The Dictionary of Angels (Including the Fallen Angels) to top off my encyclopedic bookshelves on the subject.

One thought on “A Dictionary of Angels: Including the Fallen Angels by Gustav Davidson

    Eloa’s story…. | Inky's Pen said:
    10 December 2013 at 1243

    […] A Dictionary of Angels: Including the Fallen Angels by Gustav Davidson (capslockthinks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

