Angels’ Pawn by Nalini Singh

Image Posted on Updated on

Angels' Pawn by Nalini SinghAngels’ Pawn by Nalini Singh

Series: Guild Hunters prequel

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

Angels’ Pawn introduces readers to a world of beauty and danger where angels and vampires coexist. The novella is the prequel to Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series. In Atlanta, a vampire hunter is caught between two rival factions and the angel who is manipulating them both. Her only assistance comes from a vampire who may have his own reasons for helping her…

There are certain elements in a book that will almost guaranteed grab my attention like none other:

• The Southern United States
• Vampires and angels (together!)
• Vampire hunters
(No one does vampire hunters anymore. A trend has been sparked that entails vampires are the good guys. C’mon, where’ve all the kickass humans gone?)
• A guild
• A fearless aversion to YA’s approach to sex as naughty and/or unmentionable
(I have had more than enough of that.)

Angels’ Pawn was the perfect combination of all of that and more. It begins with Ashwini, a certified bad ass Guild Hunter, and Janvier, a vampire with Southern charm (which I am such a sucker for) discussing sex and politics (but mostly politics) and angels. Specifically, an inhuman, domineering one named Nazarach. He inspires fear with just a whisper, and someone has offended him quite noticeably. He hires Ashwini to correct the transgression, and Ashwini takes on Janvier as a sort of subject matter expert/protector, despite his reputation for being a handful himself.

I only pray I can get my hands on Angels’ Blood and the rest of the Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh. If it’s anything as engrossing as Angels’ Pawn was, then I just know I’ll have found a book/series to add to my favorites. In all honesty, it shouldn’t have even taken me as long to read it as I took, and it does not stand as a proper representation of how amazing the book was. I wish I could’ve devoted a few solitary hours to it and given it the full attention it deserved for longer than I gave it. Even with distractions and the like, I still couldn’t get enough.

Yee-haw!

Leave a Reply

