Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Image Posted on Updated on

Catching Fire by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Series: The Hunger Games #2

Rating: 2 of 5 stars

Sparks are igniting.
Flames are spreading.
And the Capitol wants revenge.

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

In Catching Fire, the second novel in the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen, testing her more than ever before…and surprising readers at every turn.

Umm… wut? I feel like I just read 390 pages of the same damned book as The Hunger Games. When I first started gettin into it, I noticed somethin about the narration didn’t sit well with me. I didn’t realize until I read these lines (condensed) that this was gonna suck. And boy was I right. At too many dfferent points to take note of during this book, I found myself being fed waaaayyyy too much bullshit. A lot of telling, not showing. It’s a growing YA trend I see getting out of hand in this book.

“That night, blah blah blah, we bubble our way through a list of questions. Caesar Flickerman, blah blah blah, guides us through the interview. Blah blah blah, Peeta blah blah blah begs me to marry him. I, of course, accept. Ceasar is beside himself, the Capitol audience is hysterical, blah blah blah.

President Snow himself makes a surprise visit to congratulate us. Blah blah blah, I dare to raise my eyebrows. They ask what my lips can’t. Did I do it? Was it enough? Was giving everything over to you, keeping up the game, promising to marry Peeta enough?

In answer, he gives an almost imperceptible shake of his head.”

Which brings me to another point: I’d like to kill President Snow myself. What else does Katniss have to DO? I mean, realistically speaking? She was merely trying to keep her life. Does that REALLY warrant the incredible amount of lies she thereonafter has to cntrive?

Which brings me to another point: HOW MANY LIES MUST YOU TELL, WOMAN?! She’d already made the committment to Peeta when she goes off into the forest, breaking all kinds of the District’s laws, to dillydally with Gale, and all to no avail. All that does it get her in trouble with President Snow, Head Peacemaker Thread and everyone else in the universe, it seems. It doesn’t even do anything for her relationship with Gale.

Speaking of relationships… The “love triangle” in this series seems entirely too contrived. To be honest, Katniss kinda rings a ho-ish note with me. She just wants to feel warm and fuzzy. Gale’s been doing that for her pretty much up until – what? a year ago? – when Peeta came along during the Games. And ever since he’d been around, clearly in love with her, all Katniss does is use him blindly and parade around with him falsely, being selfish with him even when it’s not for the public’s satisfaction. Katniss is GREEDY. And rude!

I expected so much more of Catching Fire because when I finally got around to readin The Hunger Games, it sucked me in and didn’t let me go (thankfully – a 10-hour flight made bearable). I totally didn’t see the Set Up For Another Book comin when I finished it. But even then I didn’t see any gratification in continuing the series once I found out it was, indeed, one. I feel like Collins decided, “Hey, the last book did so well, let’s make this one just like it… only not… but close… yeah!”

Pretty big waste of time. If you wanna know what happens, let me enlighten you:

* Katniss angsts over Gale, who, after HE KISSES HER AND TELLS HER HE LOVES HER IN THE WOODS, becomes her COUSIN for the sake of appearances.

* Katniss angsts over President Snow’s visit to tell her she’s better make him believe she loves Peeta.

* Katniss angsts over Peeta not wanting to be buddybuddy with her when they’re off-camera and selfishly asks if they can be friends.

* Katniss angsts over the rebellion, that she really has no idea about until the Victory Tour where she gets a handful of people executed on the spot.

* Katniss angsts over uprisings that begin to pop up all over Panem’s Districts.

* Katniss angsts over Gale being whipped.

* Katniss angsts over new Head Peacemaker and the iron fist he rules District 12 with and the old Head Peacemaker being gone.

* Katniss angsts over the Quarter Quell, in which she must participate. DUNDUNDUN she’s going back to the Games. Like we didn’t see THAT one coming.

* Katniss angsts over District 13.

* Katniss angsts over getting drunk.

* Katniss angsts over getting herself killed the in Games in order for Peeta to be the Victor.

* Katniss angsts over having allies in the Games.

* Katniss angsts over a shittily built up climax wherein like 5 tributes die while she stumbles, concussed, alongside a copper wire.

* Katniss angsts over Haymitch not including her in the rebel stuff.

* Katniss angsts over District 12.

So, uhhhh, yeah. This book was pretty much a big waste of time. Way to shit the bed, Collins. And you had so much promise.

One thought on “Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

    […] so weird, though, because as I was reading the books (Catching Fire, Mockingjay), I did not like them. I felt like they were not part of the original plan for the […]

Leave a Reply

