Paskagankee by Allan Leverone

Image Posted on Updated on

Paskagankee by Allan Leverone Paskagankee by Allan Leverone

Series: Paskagankee #1

Rating: 1 of 5 stars/DNF

An isolated village, remote and vulnerable.

A series of brutal murders.

And a vengeful spirit born of tragedy, reawakened after a centuries-old massacre.

Three distinctly different people must come together, racing against time and their own personal demons in a desperate attempt to stop an unstoppable killer and save their town.

Welcome to Paskagankee, Maine. You may not survive the visit.

DID NOT FINISH.

I… just can’t do it anymore. It was interesting in the beginning with a promise of some good haunting horror. What I got were some seemingly unrelated events and a hokey-ass backstory.

I wanted to like Leverone’s writing so much. After I couldn’t make it through Postcards from the Apocalypse, I thought I should credit the fact that it was a short story collection and move on to something else by him, but… Oh, what a delusion that was.

I’ve never read cornier, less worthy stuff in my life. There was no suspense, no mystery, no horror whatsoever… The writing was also as stale and sightless as it was in Postcards from the Apocalypse. So, no, it’s not just the short stories that don’t do it for me. It’s Leverone’s style. And that’s something that’s probably just going to ruin this relationship for me from now on.

It’s about time I move on already.

Leave a Reply

