Ashes and Ice by Rochelle Maya Callen

Image Posted on Updated on

Ashes and Ice by Rochelle Maya CallenAshes and Ice by Rochelle Maya Callen

Series: Ashes and Ice #1

Rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

She is desperate to remember.
He is aching to forget.
Together, they are not broken.
But together, one may not survive.

​Jade wakes up with no memory of her past and blood on her hands.

Plagued by wicked thoughts, she searches for answers. Instead, she finds a boy who doesn’t offer her answers, but hope. But sometimes, when nightmares turn into reality and death follows you everywhere, hope is not enough.

LUST. LOVE. LOSS. Sometimes, all that is left are Ashes and Ice.

Holy rabies. Holy rabies. HOLY RABIES. Talk about a mind=blown! 4.5 stars!

I don’t even know where to begin with this one. I saw the cover, loved it. Saw the blurb, loved it. Saw an excerpt on its release day, lost all hope. But I was so curious as to whether I would actually hate it or not (it’s a curse I suffer from), so when I saw that it was priced at $0.99 for the release day, that curiosity coupled with my natural weakness for cheaply priced books convinced me to move heaven and hell to get my hands on a copy of this book and read it as soon as was humanly possible.

I read it and didn’t stop reading it if I could avoid having to put it down for any amount of time. And when I was forced to get away from it, like while I was driving or photographing my husband’s award ceremony, I couldn’t keep my brain from wrapping around the thought of it like some voracious little kitten.

Mmmmm… Okay, backtrack, breathe, focus–

Ashes and Ice drove me to its drawing depths almost as soon as I took the first dive into the story. It was dark and messy, halfway chaotic. I imagined the years of visionary reconstruction that those first few chapters had to have undergone, yet it felt as seamless and final as breathing. Inhale, Jade’s madness and confusion; exhale, Connor’s misery and bleak outlook on his life. Inhale; Jade flounders in the tatters of her new, scattered existence; exhale, Connor suffers through his loss and humiliation.

I fell in love with watching Jade and Connor kinda pick each other up, slowly, piece by misshapen piece, healing their wounds while simultaneously gaping at their own. My favorite part of that particular development rested in the fact that not only was their relationship significant but that of their families. Nanan, on Jade’s side, took her in and was a necessary part of her life right from the get-go. Desi and her brothers, Connor’s mother and uncles, were every bit as essential to his being as, in time, Jade became, and that’s something I really kinda reveled in.

But when things start seriously goin down, I lose all my critical façades, leaving in its places candor in how positively delighted I was in the direction of the story to darker, even more disgusting territory. It was like Callen plucked all the nasty but pleasureful things I rarely get the opportunity to read and penned it all, almost to the T. I WAS IN SORDID HEAVEN, Y’ALL. NO LIE.

I just… I have no words for how much I loved this. It’s (I think) my first addition to my “favorites.” The only demerit I’m even taking note of is the writing. It needed a little help with its conventions and a quick copyediting sweep. I feel that if it had been written in a stronger, more involved prose (The Sleepwalkers comes to mind), the effect of the overall storylines and individual arcs within would’ve only benefited, strengthened. Other than that, Callen, you have my attention. I’m so sorry I ever doubted you. (Hahhaha.)

One thought on “Ashes and Ice by Rochelle Maya Callen

    The Reaping by M. Leighton « Caps Lock Thinks said:
    20 January 2014 at 924

    […] over the story. While I read, I was reminded of my feelings while I read The Sleepwalkers and Ashes and Ice, which is to say totally creeped out BUT […]

Leave a Reply

