Farsighted by Emlyn Chand

Image Posted on Updated on

Farsighted by Emlyn ChandFarsighted by Emlyn Chand

Series: Farsighted #1

Rating: 1 of 5 stars/DNF

Alex Kosmitoras’s life has never been easy. The only other student who will talk to him is the school bully, his parents are dead broke and insanely overprotective, and… oh yeah, he’s blind.

Just when he thinks he’ll never have a shot at a normal life, an enticing new girl comes to their small Midwest town all the way from India. Simmi is smart, nice, and actually wants to be friends with Alex. Plus she smells like an Almond Joy bar. Sophomore year might not be so bad after all.

Alex is in store for another new arrival—an unexpected and often embarrassing ability to “see” the future. Try as he may, Alex is unable to ignore his visions, especially when they suggest Simmi is in mortal danger.

With the help of the mysterious psychic next door and friends who come bearing gifts of their own, Alex embarks on his journey to change the future.

I tried to go along for the ride good naturedly, but this is where I stop:

“I don’t need any trouble either,” I bark out like a Doberman. Go ahead, try to invade my yard.

For one, ugh. For another, her characters are equally as inorganic as the story itself. At the start of each chapter is a mini “prophecy” that basically sums up what goes on in the entire chapter. That, more than anything, subtracted from the experience almost entirely. It brought my belief back into the question when I was supposed to have left it suspended at the cover. Instead I was welcomed with a big paragraph-long synopsis of the coming scenes which altogether made reading the damned book pointless. Honesty, who reads a book for the first time when they know exactly what’s gonna happen every step of the way and expects to enjoy it?

Aside from that, but coming back to my previously mentioned gripe about lifeless characters, WHAT PLANETS ARE THESE PEOPLE FROM? I know something big is going on with Dad, so I won’t touch on him, but Mom—lets her blind son spend chunks of un-accounted-for time away from her when he’s been suspended from school? For FIGHTING? And then the perpetrator himself, Alex! A self-righteous, goading fool if I ever knew one. He thinks he’s so much better than the school jock Brady because he doesn’t bully people, but he judges Shapri, the shopowner next to his mother’s daughter, just based on a singular minute-long conversation before meeting her for the second time only to “bark at” her (which is where I stopped).

No thank you. I had incredibly high hopes for what author Chand would do with a blind narrator/main character (as that’s something I crafted into one of my own characters in a major project I’m workin on), but she somehow managed to make me hate him more than I hated his grunting Bostonian father.

Overall, the characters and the construction (mainly the “prophecies”) made for a stiff, cardboard, inorganic movement on the literary front, and I have better things to waste my time on. Where’s my TBR e-book list?

Leave a Reply

