Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

Image Posted on Updated on

Fifty Shades Darker by E. L. JamesFifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

Series: Fifty Shades #2

Rating: 2 of 5 stars

Daunted by the singular tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

Yeah, I did it. I read the next book in this godforsaken series. And it was pretty okay. (Hence the two stars.)

The high points: Ana’s growth (desultory but progressive nonetheless); Christian’s compromise (waaaaay too extreme but… still); their ability to communicate (my FAVORITE thing, like… ever!!); involvement of side characters.

Once Ana gets the fuck over herself (read: once Christian spends an entire weekend convincing Ana he wants to be with her and she starts to accept the possibility), things move along pretty well. The first half is pretty infuriating because Ana acts as witless and simple as her persona in Fifty Shades of Grey and her Twilight counterpart; however, can I just take a moment to express my deep, deep gratitude for the relatively short New Moon period of Ana’s post-break up depression!

Although I don’t believe any man whose mental anguish runs as deep as Christian’s can just up and cold-turkey his sexual habits for one hypocritical little girl (she has NO room to pass judgment on HIS “fifty shades” when she’s got her own schizo tendencies), it was nice to see that explored. I mean, I don’t agree with it at all. For fuck’s sake, he literally has to become a different person in order for Anastasia to accept him and love him, and then even afterwards she is constantly doubting if she really does, but…

“I like to whip little brown-haired girls like you because you all look like the crack whore–my birth mother.”
-Christian, p. 251

Whatever. Fuck her. Keep up the good work.

Anyway, the side characters were fun this time around. Not all evil and hatin’ Christian for no good reason. And Leila and Elena were particularly interesting. No idea why. Maybe it’s because I like Christian, and those parts of him are neat, I find (unlike Ana, who like dies every time he mentions his past).

My favorite part? When Christian goes all devastated and submissive on his knees before Ana. Prolly the point at which I decided I actually liked reading this strange, strange book. Actually, I lied. I think my favorite part is the exponentially less degree of reliance on the source material for characters, motivations and events. It was at least somewhat original this time around.

But, by the way that ending left off, I really just wanna roll my eyes at Fifty Shades Freed and leave it at that. In fact, I just may.

2 thoughts on “Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

    […] Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades #2) by E.L. James (capslockthinks.wordpress.com) […]

    […] Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades #2) by E.L. James […]

Leave a Reply

