Seduced in the Dark by C.J. Roberts

Image Posted on Updated on

Seduced in the Dark by C. J. RobertsSeduced in the Dark by C.J. Roberts

Series: The Dark Duet #2

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

What is the price of redemption?

Rescued from sexual slavery by a mysterious Pakistani officer, Caleb carries the weight of a debt that must be paid in blood.

The road has been long and fraught with uncertainty, but for Caleb and Livvie, it’s all coming to an end.

Can he surrender the woman he loves for the sake of vengeance?

Or will he make the ultimate sacrifice?

I really don’t know what I can do to justify exactly how much I loved this book. I considered myself extremely lucky to have enjoyed Captive in the Dark (with a somewhat noncommittal 3 star rating) and didn’t expect much out of this, enjoyment-wise. I kept thinking to myself as I read, “Wow! This is awesome! When’s it gonna fall apart?” Because it’s usually when the shit hits the fan in erotica sequels that I lose all interest, and the story itself turns into a melodramatic fuckload.

None of that even close to happened with Seduced in the Dark.

There was something about the way it was presented that kept me wrapped around my Nook like I was married to it. Beginning a few months after the end of the last book and switchbacking between the “present,” and the past, where it mends the gap between then and now, and Caleb’s childhood (in small doses), the dovetailing storylines left just enough to be desired until, like I said, my Nook and I got real tight.

I had bought this book with intentions of reading both it and its previous installment on the 8 hour plane ride to Germany, but with this one at 861 pages and the other at 600-something, there was no way that would be happening! And not a moment is wasted in the storytelling. The writing isn’t the most stellar, which really bogged down the experie3nce for me with the first book, but I didn’t give two shits while I read this one. Woohoo for gripping storylines!

Anyway, there’s pretty much a million and one things I could say about this book but I simply can’t. I don’t know how. All I can say is that I enjoyed it ten times more than I thought I would. I’d probably even re-read it someday.

And my but I like Caleb. :] And Kitten, too. :]

But, wait hold on, wtf @ Roberts. Like I said, this thing was 861 pages. There’s no reason she couldn’t have divided it into two installments, at much less overwhelming lengths. But then again, it didn’t seem to matter too much there at the end. Just a thought.

Oh and it’s super cool that she served in the Air Force for ten years. Props!

Leave a Reply

