The Witching Pen by Dianna Hardy

Image Posted on Updated on

The Witching Pen by Dianna HardyThe Witching Pen by Dianna Hardy

Series: The Witching Pen Novellas #1

Rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

It’s hard being the most powerful witch on the planet. It’s even harder when you’re a twenty-five year old virgin who’ll lose all of that power the moment you sleep with someone … that’s why Elena’s never slept with her best friend and flatmate, Karl, despite the true feelings they harbour for each other.

Elena’s about to discover that there are even more difficult things in life to deal with. One of them comes in the form of a pen she discovers one day, a pen that allows anything she writes to come to pass…

Suddenly, it’s not just her powers or her heart that’s at stake, but her very soul, as a dream demon with a seductive pull uses the pen to try and turn her away from her reality, and from Karl.

But the pen is just the beginning. Everything Elena has believed in is a lie, and her world is about to fall apart…

“You’re a thirteenth generation witch, Elena–and a virgin. He’s come to claim you, and your magic, as his own.”

The Witching Pen assumed a great disguise with its first few chapters, a cruel disguise too, considering it had me thinking I’d have this whole thing figured out by page 50 out of 300. And I’m not one of those people who can easily see around the corner’s of a book’s narrative or, say, an episode of CSI: Miami, you know? I’m extremely gullible, to a fault. I wait to figure things out alongside my characters; I hate to be 5 steps ahead of them. With this one, I thought I was, and then it went psycho-schizo on me and kicked me in the ass and told me to sit the hell down and just enjoy the fuckin’ show.

Basically the twists in The Witching Pen put me in my place.

25-year-old Elena has lived her whole life with the knowledge that she can’t have sex with anyone, ever, lest she relinquish her powerful witchery to her partner. Her mother, Katherine, has forewarned of this burden to be carried as her lineage dictates, the thirteenth witch in a long line of witches behind her. And it would be all right, she thinks, with Karl, her 27-year-old roommate who also happens to suffer a more-than-a-decade-long unrequited love for her, because he’s willing to take on the burden.

Sounds pretty predictable, right?

Well, there’s this demon–actually, there are a few of those–SPOILER » and an angel–or two–and a crazy old man and a girl no one can figure out and a plot and a ploy and a whole host of lies, and as I read I was like, “WOW BLINDSIDE ME AGAIN, WHY DONCHA?!” and I would be blindsided again, and the whole vicious cycle just knew no end, even well into the epilogue.

This little number packed way more of a punch than I expected. The dialogue got a little out-of-hand sometimes, and the head-hopping was perhaps slightly more exaggerated than necessary (but only slightly). Other than that, though, I think I’ve found my go-to author for pleasing my palate when it comes to sexy adult paranormal things. Hardy, I’m keepin an eye out for ya. I was promised something about dragons in the note after the epilogue!

One thought on “The Witching Pen by Dianna Hardy

    […] I’m interested in the next story, but I’m not quite as interested I was after finishing The Witching Pen. Still wanna see where it goes, […]

Leave a Reply

