Defiance by Lili St. Crow

Image Posted on Updated on

Defiance by Lili St. CrowDefiance by Lili St. Crow

Series: Strange Angels #4

Rating: 2 of 5 stars

Now that sixteen-year-old Dru’s worst fears have come true and Sergej has kidnapped her best friend Graves, she’ll have to go on a suicidal rescue mission to bring him back in one piece.

That is, if she can put all of Christophe’s training to good use, defeat her mother’s traitor, Anna, once and for all, and manage to survive another day…

I kinda really don’t know what to say about this. Maybe St. Crow should’ve left this series at three books, but this the fourth kinda takes everything that was great and genius about all the other books and shits all over it but not before running it underneath a lawnmower.

PAUSE FOR CRINGE. I’M LISTENING TO THE EPILOGUE RIGHT NOW AND I’VE COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT DRU IS A CHILD. SHE NEEDS TO STOP REFERRING TO HER BREASTS AS “CHESTICLES.” SERIOUSLY.

Play for review. Anyway, yeah. I’ve never finished one of the Strange Angel books so quickly before, and I know that had nothing at all to do with how gripping or exciting it was. Because there was nothing gripping or exciting about it. I feel like I’ve been jerked around by Dru and those around her, manipulated so many ways that my emotions no longer respond to the prodding. And after all the abuse, I kinda feel like I wasted my time as well. This was the filleriest mouthful I’ve ever come across in transitions between books.

Really, I don’t even know what to say. I’m hugely disappointed by how much I didn’t care about anything that was going on. And I’m hugely disappointed by the lack of detail and care that went into this. I don’t have a lot of opportunity to listen to audiobooks. Like, almost none. It’s why it always takes like a month at the minimum to finish a single book. I finished this one in less than a week. This has nothing to do with the fact that I listened to like half of the book at 3x the normal reading rate.

I was just so bored, there was no other way.

And what was with that total sellout of a “mission” in the beginning? Dru in a dress at a party against a sucker. (City of Bones anyone?) What’s become of Dru? There’s like nothing left of her in this book.

Everything fell apart so spectacularly that I am just looking forward to getting Reckoning over with so I can be done with this series.

But I can’t leave off without stating my biggest pet peeve–

I hate, hate, hate that Dru thinks she has any feelings at all for Christophe when, really, there’s no way she feels anything for him than pity. Or anything else. She only ever developed these so-called feelings for him after Graves left. I HATE THAT FUCKING TROPE. It’s the biggest love-triangle ploy out there. The girl can’t make up her mind and so has it made up for her when the primary love interest high-tails it (or, in Graves’ case, gets wolf-napped by the King of Vampires) and the secondary love interest fills the void left by the first to be held all warm and fuzzy-like.

FUCKING MDSBFJDSHFKJSJFKL;AJKl

*dies in a corner*

I don’t know what to expect of Reckoning, but I hope it’s at least worth my time, unlike this mess.

Gah.
End rant.

One thought on “Defiance by Lili St. Crow

    Reckoning by Lili St. Crow « Caps Lock Thinks said:
    20 January 2014 at 622

    […] will say one thing for the progression of the story: boy, was I in it to win it. Other than Defiance, which was stunted in length and therefore doesn’t count, this is the fastest I’ve ever […]

Leave a Reply

