Epilogue by C.J. Roberts

Image Posted on Updated on

Epilogue by C. J. RobertsEpilogue by C.J. Roberts

Series: The Dark Duet #3

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m writing this because you begged. You know how I love the begging. In fact, you probably know too many things and know them far too well.

Who am I?

Well, that’s what I’m trying to figure out. I was a whore in my youth, a killer since my adolescence, and a monster as a man. I am the man who kidnapped Livvie. I am the man who held her in a dark room for weeks. But, most importantly, I am the man she loves.

She loves me. It’s quite sick, isn’t it?

Of course, there’s more to our story than can be surmised in a few short sentences, but I’m at a loss for justifying my behavior back then. I assume if you’re reading this, I don’t need to make those justifications. You’ve already made your own.

You’re reading this because you want to know about the rest of the story. You want to know what happened that warm summer night in September of 2010, the night I met Livvie at The Paseo. It was the night my life changed all over again.

It didn’t happen exactly as Livvie said. She’s been very kind to me in the retelling of our story. The truth is far more…complicated.

You know, I think going into Epilogue was the first time I ever got to the end of a series and didn’t worry about all the things I loved about previous installment(s) blowing up in my face. I already knew that C. J. Roberts wasn’t about to yank the rug from under my feet. It helped that the first chapter had been posted on Facebook and it promised as much as it delivered. ;]

This’ll be a short review because I really only want to say one thing in particular, and that’s “Yes.” One big resounding “Yes.” Because this book was everything it needs to be and more. Caleb and Livvie had been through a lot and in Epilogue, they had to go through even more. They made leaps and bounds of progress by talking to each other and letting themselves trust one another and it just made it so happy to see that, yay, even two people as fucked in the head as they are can make it together!

I offer Roberts a job well done and my hard-to-earn devotion for the rest of her book-writing career until she puts out something as painful as Hush, Hush. I’m afraid that’s the only thing that can keep me from gobbling up every story she writes from now on.

Plus, I really liked how their story kinda came full-circle, how Livvie actually “authored” Captive in the Dark and included Caleb’s perspective in the whole ordeal. It was a really cool idea that I thought fit seamlessly well within the narrative and even contributed to the construction of their trust and understanding in one another.

My favorite quotes are:

With each passing minute, I realized the void inside me was alive and well. It was thirsty. It had a taste for a new sort of misery–hope.

p. 45

I wanted a fight. I needed a fight. I was sick and tired of playing nice. I AM NOT NICE!

p. 56

“Tell me I don’t deserve you. Tell me all the things I already know.”

p. 58

“Claudia! That’s not for snacking, you bitch.” Livvie spanked the other girl on the ass and both of them giggled.

Girls are so strange. If another man called me a bitch and spanked me, it would not end in giggles.

p. 70

Livvie walked in and the happiness I saw on her face melted me. I wasn’t sure I’d ever seen her so happy. It made her jealous of her friends. I’d given up my whole fucking life to be with her and she never looked that happy with me.

p. 71

Her head came forward and rubbed against my thigh in supplication. It’s difficult to process all the things I feel when Livvie expresses herself this way. If I were a wolf, I’d howl. If I were a lion, I would roar. If we lived in the jungle, I would bring her and wolf and a lion to feast on.

p. 90

Some days it seemed as though the only time I felt firmly connected to her was when I was literally inside her. I could imagine myself as her Prince Charming. I was not a monster. I was worthy. My heart was not an empty husk–it was engorged with blood and feeling.

p. 96

Livvie went on to describe [Agent] Reed as good looking and sharp witted. I’m fucking good looking and sharp witted! I bet Reed only speaks in one language. I’m sharp witted in five!

p. 106

Leave a Reply

