Losing It by Cora Carmack

Image Posted on Updated on

Losing It by Cora CarmackLosing It by Cora Carmack

Series: Losing It #1

Rating: 3 of 5 stars

Virginity.

Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible– a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

There was a galaxy inside of me–complex and infinite and miraculous and fragile. And at the center was my sun. Garrick. Love. The two were like synonyms to me now.

p. 159

That three star rating is a REALLY high three stars. I promise.

Losing It originally grabbed me with its premise. A 22-year-old plans to get rid of her virginity on a one-night stand? Sign me up. Of course, that’s nothing now the story went (beyond the first like 5 chapters, which all detailed the events of this single night), but at that point, I was kinda already invested.

I have to say, the one thing that kept me going throughout was: Garrick. Number one, I love that his name was Garrick and Number Two, although I intitially resented it because Bliss (our heroine) slighted a guy with a Southern accent, I ended up diggin’ his British accent (or, rather, that he had one). If it weren’t for him, and how genuine he was to Bliss throughout the entire story, I probably wouldn’t have been half as interested.

As things stand, read this book for him. Bliss makes it a little frustrating at times (seriously, you’d think the woman had never been in a man’s presence before, much less had a boyfriend or done a little something short of losing her virginity, but nope she’s pretty much as clueless as a preteen… probably more so, in this day and age), but the side characters and the subplots make for a very interesting read.

This is how much I liked this book: I’ve been awake since 13 July 6 A.M. I began this book 14 July 9:30 A.M. with almost 30 hours of no sleep racked up under my belt. It is now (still 14 July) 3:20 P.M., and I (still) haven’t slept a wink since I picked up this book. (I actually picked up the sequel, Faking It, first before I realized what I was walking into, two chapter deep.)

Talk about compulsively readable!

Not to mention, I loved all the constant nerding out from the college students that were Bliss’ friends! I mean, seriously, Garrick and Bliss’ first conversation traced contours of Shakespeare’s work while Bliss was probably too tipsy to think all the way straight. Awesome!

Why, I think I’ll just mosey on along to Faking It right now, if you don’t mind…

One thought on “Losing It by Cora Carmack

    Faking It by Cora Carmack « Caps Lock Thinks said:
    20 January 2014 at 707

    […] a SEQUEL. It’d been a long 30 hours without sleep. -_-’ So off I went to read book one, Losing It, and then returned to read Faking […]

Leave a Reply

