Pivot Point by Kasie West

Image Posted on Updated on

Pivot Point by Kasie WestPivot Point by Kasie West

Series: Pivot Point #1

Rating: 1.5 of 5 stars

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

Post-review edit: Seriously, my leniency towards this novel has kept me up thinkin’ at night, and I can’t. I simply cannot pretend like I didn’t kinda hate this book. The ONLY thing that kept me from 100% hatin’ it was Trevor, and that’s only because he was sweet (although even that rang false towards the end) and Southern (although he was from Dallas ._.) and Texas (because… well, fuckin’ Texas). That’s it.

So, in light of my inability to deal with the comparatively glowing rate of 2.5 stars, I must bump it down to around 1.5 STARS, and that will sit with my conscience much more pleasantly. Sayin’ I “liked” this book feels like a straight-up lie, and that I simply cannot abide by.

Original review follows.

2.5 STARS.

This might be a pretty prime example of either peer pressure or a bad case of memorable books having memorable reviews.

Because, see, normally, I wouldn’t have given Pivot Point a second look. As a matter of fact, I prolly would’ve shelved it nah playa, that shit ain’t me. ‘Cause it’s not. It really isn’t. But review after review claimed that it was so amazing, and so expectation-exceeding, that I allowed myself to cave (see above: peer pressure), and I added this book knowing, pretty much, what I was getting myself into from the start.

That’s not how I usually do things. When I first look at a book, I either go undecided on it (I created a we shall see shelf to remedy my forgetfulness over which books I’m undecided on) or I shelf it as to read or nah playa, either with or without readin’ a few reviews on it first. Then I promptly forget everything I know about that book. If it’s on my TBR, I know it’ll be a long time before I cross it again, since my TBR is a perpetually multiplying monster, and I have to dedicate time to slimmin’ it. This way, by the time I do get around to readin’ the book, it’s a surprise for me as to what’s inside because I don’t re-read the genre or the synopsis or anything. It’s a title and position deal. It usually works out.

In the case of Pivot Point, such buzz and hype surrounded it that I never really forgot it. I knew it was about a girl who foresaw two futures for herself between a pair of divorcing parents. I think if I hadn’t known that, reading this book would’ve been a completely different experience. But I knew that so many other (trusted) readers enjoyed it that, when I found myself bored and a little fed up with the novel, something good must be around the corner.

There wasn’t really anything that good around the corner.

For a book that was supposed to explore the repercussions of a single choice, there were an ass-ton of missing gaps between each (surprisingly short) chapter. The romance that develops in each timeline probably put me off the most. The conjoining conflict of the main antagonistic forces crossing both the Normal world and Paranormal world was interesting, but once you’ve read a new development once, it feels repetitive and thin the second time around.

Plus, it kinda hugely caught me off-guard that the world Addie lives in is a Paranormal community where everyone and their mother (literally) has a mind ability. Definitely didn’t expect that. Right along with how utterly absorbed with football this books was. I hate sports. I didn’t take it out on the book, but I didn’t anticipate that it would be so drenched in football. It’s, like, the center of almost every conflict. And somehow, the one thing that I didn’t expect is the one thing that felt totally off for me. I thought she’d be a secret potential-future-foreseer, not… one of hundreds.

I just… Ugh. I didn’t not like the book, okay? Trevor was really sweet, and I loved that Addie only wanted to be “best friends” with him at first, and he was the one who made the change in their relationship, even though everything past that point moved as swiftly as the other timeline. But I did love that he had a Southern accent (even though they were in Dallas… not a lot of native Central Texan accents there!) and did the Cowboy thing. (UGH. My soft spot. Cowboy boots. The hat. A nice but quiet guy with an accent. POINTS!)

…Only, I kinda couldn’t stand the Addie who stayed in the Paranormal world instead of moving out with the Normals because she was a brat. A straight-up brat. Her undermining of her parents’ divorce with falsified behavioral deviance kinda really pissed me off because my parents are divorced and her expectation of them, and of herself, in that scenario is as unrealistic as her best friend Laila points them out to be.

Maybe I should rate a flat two stars or simply round down. The more I think about it, the more I realize I didn’t exactly like this book. It truly was just okay. But, fuck it, a half-star because the writing didn’t suck (and that, for some reason, seems to be a point worth makin’ when, as is often the case, the opposite can be said of some of the books that get put out these days).

So, in the end, I’m forced to conclude, Pivot Point was simply not for me.

I am gonna read the sequel, Split Second, though, because it didn’t completely let me down or anything, and the areas that it did were my fault because I had a hard time forgettin’ this book the way I forget others… so yeah… By the way, is that Laila on the cover of Split Second? Hm.

One thought on “Pivot Point by Kasie West

    […] it out first. It’s one of the things that is almost never executed well, as was the case with Pivot Point, which I didn’t like at all (see the pattern here?). The same problem viewed from 3-4 or even […]

Leave a Reply

