The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Image Posted on Updated on

The Hunger Games: Catching FireThe Hunger Games: Catching Fire (based on the novel by Suzanne Collins)

Series: The Hunger Games #2 – Movie

Rating: 5 of 5 stars

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark become targets of the Capitol after their victory in the 74th Hunger Games sparks a rebellion in the Districts of Panem.

Excuuuuuuuse me! Can I just take a moment here and applaud the shit out of this movie? Can that actually be my entire review? Because, honestly, that’s all this movie needs in order to justify itself. It was truly all that a book-to-movie adaptation should be: a complement of its source material, fleshing out and thinning down the right parts in the right proportions and sequence to make the story real.

I don’t know if I was the only one slightly let down by the strange approach taken for the first film, The Hunger Games. It was dry, the lack of music during pivotal scenes was kinda weird and uncomfortable (biggest one being the viral “I VOLUNTEER!” scene – that one lacked impact on a regrettable scale), and it reminded everyone of Battle Royale, of course. The only thing that movie did to better itself was add in that rebellion scene in District 11 after Katniss honored Rue’s death – and the touch with Seneca Crane’s punishment. I thought that was neat. About it, though.

THG: Catching Fire? Did so much more. And did it well. So well. It made me so proud.

It’s so weird, though, because as I was reading the books (Catching Fire, Mockingjay), I did not like them. I felt like they were not part of the original plan for the series. Not that I would know, but its development came out of nowhere at the end of The Hunger Games. They were not highly rated books. For a reason! The characters – mainly Katniss – were not likable, for the most part. The movies? Worlds above their sources. They’re good, and THG: Catching Fire redoubled that effort to an incredibly admirable outcome. Marvelous!

Don’t even get me started on the cast. Seriously. This review would go on for days if I did. I can safely announce that this is the first movie I actually like better than the book. With no shame, either – this movie certainly deserves it! I can’t say enough how much I loved this movie. Can’t wait for the next one(s). :D :D :D

Anyway, trust me, this review could go on for miles with the things I thought of it, but I’ll spare you and instead present the characters of this fantastic film.

Kinda irritated I couldn’t find any stills of Katniss (Jennifer Lawrence) and Johanna (Jenna Malone) together! I had a theme goin’, damn it. Threw off my groove.

4 thoughts on “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

    suzelovesbooks said:
    28 December 2013 at 339

    AHHHH so glad you enjoyed this movie! Catching Fire was by far my favourite book out of all three, and I was so happy with the movie and its casting.

      Sierra responded:
      28 December 2013 at 737

      They did a fantastic job with casting, honestly. I was really surprised and very happy with the result. A+!

        suzelovesbooks said:
        28 December 2013 at 1045

        Exactly. The Hunger Games was pretty good, but Catching Fire was downright stunning.

    […] The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (capslockthinks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

