Prodigy by Marie Lu

Image Posted on Updated on

Prodigy by Marie LuProdigy by Marie Lu

Series: Legend #2

Rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

I am one tough cookie to wring a full 5 stars out of, but I tell you what Prodigy tried its damnedest. It really, really did. It tried so hard that I’m not entirely convinced it’s a product of the same universe, the same characters, the same author, even, as Legend.

In Prodigy, June and Day’s personalities are so much sharper, better defined, than before – the text for each of the chapters they narrate alternates, but even without visual clues I always knew who was who, and that’s because Day and June not only have grown as characters but they’ve also been separated.

Now, usually, I hate when a couple I love never gets to spend much airtime together, but in this case it’s totally understandable. Because what’s goin’ on? A plot to destabilize the Republic with the Patriots’ help. I really appreciate that there’s no such thing as an easy answer in this war even though a few may masquerade as such – the harsh realities (please forgive the unimaginative turn of phrase) that permeate this dilapidated, futuristic America are colorful and tactile.

Not to mention the characters! In Legend, there were only a handful of characters that mattered – June, the prodigy; Day, the legend; Metias, June’s brother; John and Eden, Day’s brothers; Thomas, Metias’ best friend (or a little more); Tess, Day’s traveling companion for the past few years; and Kaede, the rough-edged Patriot. There are a few others, but their roles fluctuate between the two novels. However, in Prodigy, there are so many more characters who, while not totally free of development, manage to flesh out the story even more.

And, for fuckin’ sure, I refuse to let the little slides of LGBTQ appreciation go unmentioned. Seriously, the fact that two or more characters in a book is gay (closested or not) gets my approval – even if it does fall into a stereotype. Which, admittedly, Marie Lu does and at the same time doesn’t do. But honestly? It’s the only reason I stuck around to read Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series – the gay characters. Thumbs up, Marie Lu! Thank you for that! VR, a very excited reader.

Anyway, anyone who has read my Legend review knows I wasn’t the biggest fan of it, so that I come away from Prodigy with so much praise to fling in my review speaks volumes. I have no idea what to expect from the next sequel, Champion, but I have it on hand and I plan to dig into it soon. Hopefully I can close out the series with a big fat 5 star review – but I won’t sabotage myself just yet. I know how disappointing series enders can be. (I’m lookin’ at you, Reckoning from Strange Angels!)

P.S., I have a huge heterosexual crush on Marie Lu – God that girl is cute. *v*

3 thoughts on “Prodigy by Marie Lu

    […] time where unicorns pranced around farting rainbows. I skipped it. Then the drama kicked in, of the Prodigy variety, and because I have no way of hiding spoilers, here’s the warning because I’m […]

    Zoe N. said:
    8 January 2014 at 550

    I definitely agree with this review 110%! Like you, I definitely wasn’t the biggest fan of Legend. It was certainly good, but it wasn’t necessarily mind blowing in my opinion. But I definitely agree that Progidy was SO MUCH better!
            I’m definitely with you on how Day and June were so much more developed – not only as characters but as people as well. I also thought the world-building was a lot better as well. Can’t wait for Champion! I hope you end up enjoying it as much as you enjoyed Progidy!
            As always, brilliant review Sierra! :D

      Sierra responded:
      10 January 2014 at 541

      Thanks for the wonderful compliment and comment. I’m glad you agree! I love when a sequel trumps its predecessor. Have you read Champion yet? I’m still a little apprehensive about starting to so soon after finishing Prodigy. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

