Love Me for Me By Kate Laurens

Image Posted on

Love Me for Me by Kate LaurensLove Me for Me by Kate Laurens

Series: Safe Haven #1

Rating: 1.5 stars

A fresh start…

It’s been three years since Serena King learned to say no—no to the boys that were a desperate cry for help, no to the extra weight she put on in self defense, and most of all no to the abuse that has haunted her since she was fifteen. Now a sophomore in college, all she wants is to be normal. The last thing she expects is a guy who can make her want… make her want everything.

A new guy…

Alex Blackthorn is a bundle of contradictions, a sexy dark haired badness who goes slow… deliciously slow. And despite the iron will that has gotten her through the last few years, Serena finds herself unable to ignore the heat that sizzles between them whenever they’re together.

A dark past…

Serena never thought she could be involved in a relationship, but Alex makes her long for things she thought were out of her reach forever. When he finds out her secret… when he finds out what she did to keep herself sane… will he still want her, or he will treat her just like everyone else?

And Alex has a secret of his own.

Siggghhhhhhh. I don’t think I can accurately encapsulate right now just how mind-numbingly boring and mediocre this book was. It says a lot about the fact that not only did I select this book to read because I needed something to put me to sleep, but I also finished it by accident. I reached the last chapter and kind of just made a surely unattractive face as I put it aside and went for the melatonin instead because I had no idea I had reached the climax, much less the conclusion. Yeah. Wut.

Let’s start with the mundane characters of Serena (took me a minute to remember) and Alex Blackthorn (wow really with that name). They’re both tortured by their pasts – big surprise there, huh? Of course, Alex is more forthcoming about his and patiently waits for Serena to do the same, only she never does because reasons.

Holy crap, this book was so boring, I don’t even feel like reviewing it.

Anyway, some stuff happens, they slowly (but somehow very quickly) gain each other’s trust, a few more things happen, blah blah at the end, Alex (obviously) loves Serena for Serena. Whatever. That’s not what’s important.

Look, the only redeemable thing this book had going for it was the relationship between the girls – Serena and her room mate/self-proclaimed best friend, Kaylee, and a girl she teaches yoga to, Maddy. They weren’t the most complicated relationships in the world, but by the end of the book they had all kind of made progress in their friendship (even though I recognize this was probably a development set up purely for the basis of the other books in this series, which follows them. Not surprised).

Ummm, also Alex is a diabetic? That’s points, I guess?

I don’t know. The whole thing was very meh. So meh I can’t even properly review it, because there’s just about nothing to properly review. There wasn’t an original thought in Love Me for Me – to include the title. Jesus, Kate Laurens, couldn’t have gone the nonspoiler route with your title?

Ugh, I’m gettin’ testy even trying to explain this book, so I’ll leave it here while I still feel like giving it 1.5 stars instead of, like, none or something.

In Love Me for Me‘s defense, it was the first book I picked up after the wound that Afterimage left in my bookish heart, so it had a huge void to fill. Also to its detriment, though, it didn’t even try to spit in the void, much less fill it. I may have to get rid of the memory of that book altogether.

I’m almost certain that even people whose genre is like perfectly aligned with contemporary college New Adult romances wouldn’t find this book engaging or fulfilling at all.

One thought on “Love Me for Me By Kate Laurens

    […] Since I finished Afterimage, I’ve only reviewed twice – Cavalier Youth by You Me at Six and Love Me for Me by Kate Laurens – both pretty dismally. It’s gotten so bad that I haven’t even […]

Leave a Reply

