Caps Lock Thinks… Book Hangovers Kinda Suck!

Posted on Updated on

Before I get to the meat of the matter, I’d like to take a moment to announce that I set the release date for my first novel, The Soul, which is March 15th, 2014. I’d really appreciate anyone willing to help support me through this. More information can be found at my blog, permashift, or my website. Thanks!

Now, let’s introduce Caps Lock Thinks’ very own discussion feature: Caps Lock Thinks! Hard name to come up with, that.

Anyway, since I have opinions that don’t always revolve around a singular book/movie/CD/etc. to express in the form of a review, and it seems like I’m stopped up on reviews lately anyway, I decided to start up discussions.

Today’s topic: BOOK HANGOVERS.

bookhangover

Y’all know the ones! It’s the result of finishing a really badass book and often, until an equally badass book comes along, it’s simply impossible to get emotionally invested in another book.

This has been my readerly kryptonite ever since I finished Afterimage by Santino Hassell and Ais a month ago! Since I finished Afterimage, I’ve only reviewed twice – Cavalier Youth by You Me at Six and Love Me for Me by Kate Laurens – both pretty dismally. It’s gotten so bad that I haven’t even been able to move past my playing of Assassin’s Creed Revelations or watching the entirety of Supernatural seasons 1 through 6 (pretty sure I’ll keep going all the way to season 8 or even 9, too)!

How has a book affected me so much that I can’t even play games or watch any other TV show anymore?! How is that even possible?

I guess it was just that good, but…

Well, I’m ready to move on. It’s been a month. I’m currently reading The Audition by Ryu Murakami and Gehenna by Jason Brant, and they’re both only confirming my disastrous hangover.

Does anyone have any recommendations – or pointers – that may be able to pull me out of this funk?

What do you think of book hangovers? I used to think they were cool, but not after this. :[

Have you ever had one as bad as mine? Remember, it’s been a month already!

Leave a Reply

