Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Image Posted on Updated on

Hex Hall by Rachel HawkinsHex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Series: Hex Hall #1

Rating: 1 of 5 stars

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

The fuck did I just read?

No, really, what in the screaming blue fuck did I just read? This book has personality issues to rival that of Crash by Lisa McMann. Subject matter that’s actually pretty mature handled with a middle grade voice. We have yet another case of a 16-year-old-narrator, Sophie, who talks like she’s 12. Absolutely made me hate the story right off the bat. Especially considering I don’t like my favorite paranormals – demons and angels – handled with levity.

Speaking of levity and feeling a lack of threat, this book wouldn’t know what suspense or building tension was if it were doused in it. Which it was about to be because the whole book’s a Z-fest. It spent the first 100 pages going through the details of Sophie’s first day at school, and the next 200 pages are rushed through with zero tension, zero buildup, zero interest.

I considered DNFing it fairly early on – I have a minireview of Monstrous Beauty just waiting for another underwhelming narrative to join it in its pitiful corner before I publish it – but since there was a mention of demons, I decided to give it a try. And let me say: Reading this book isn’t worth the time I wasted on it.

How stupid can these characters get? A kid who’s aligned himself with a terrorist organization decides to get touchy-feely with the very thing he’s supposed to kill? A girl doesn’t pause to think a demon that she and her friends raised isn’t the one killing off the members of her coven who raised it, one by one? A woman who knows there’s a demonic threat to the school doesn’t look into the presence of demonic vibes in the school? Oh, and my favorite “what the fuck?” – NO ONE BOTHERS TO TELL THE HALF-DEMON GIRL SHE’S HALF-FUCKING DEMON?

What’s wrong with these people?

I refuse to continue this series. It pokes fun at the severity and austerity that is the demon and the angel and tramples all over it. Sorry, but that shit doesn’t fly with me.

Plus, this author has behaved badly, and had I known that going into this book, I never would’ve even bothered spending money on it. That was my mistake. But fuck this book anyway.

2 thoughts on “Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

    Jeann @ Happy Indulgence said:
    30 May 2014 at 1048

    Nooo I’m so sorry that this book is like this Sierra! Thank you for letting me know your honest thoughts. I have this one on my shelf, but I don’t like it when characters act much younger than they are supposed to.

      Sierra responded:
      31 May 2014 at 903

      I seem to be in the minority with my opinion of this book, if that helps. You may still enjoy it. I don’t particularly enjoy the “teen girl” voice, but some other reviewers loved it.

Leave a Reply

