Black Butler, Vol. 1 by Yana Toboso

Image Posted on

Black Butler, Vol. 1 by Yana TobosoBlack Butler, Vol. 1 by Yana Toboso

Series: Black Butler #1

Rating: 2 of 5 stars

In the Victorian ages of London The Earl of the Phantomhive house, Ciel Phantomhive, needs to get his revenge on those who had humiliated him and destroyed what he loved. Not being able to do it alone he sells his soul to a demon he names Sebastian Michaelis. Now working as his butler, Sebastian must help the Earl Phantomhive in this suspenseful, exciting, thriller manga.

Ya know, I gotta say, I’m not really understandin’ all the hype over this series – at least, not based off this one volume, alone.

Admittedly, the only reason I finally even picked up this series was the promise of a devil and some underhanded shounen-ai. I don’t feel like Vol. 1 really even attempts to deliver on any one of those fronts. All in all, it’s nothing what I expected.

I’m still going to read Vol. 2, so hopefully my opinion perks up after that, but if it doesn’t, I won’t consider it any real loss. There are so many other great manga and anime out there that shoving Black Butler under the rug won’t bug me much.

Leave a Reply

