How to Train Your Dragon 2

Image Posted on Updated on

How to Train Your Dragon 2How to Train Your Dragon 2

Series: How to Train Your Dragon #2

Rating: 5 of 5 stars

When Hiccup and Toothless discover an ice cave that is home to hundreds of new wild dragons and the mysterious Dragon Rider, the two friends find themselves at the center of a battle to protect the peace.

SEE. SEE. THIS IS WHY I HATED FROZEN SO MUCH. BECAUSE THERE ARE MOVIES OUT THERE – MOVIES LIKE THESE – THAT ABSOLUTELY BLOW IT OUT OF THE WATER WITHOUT EVEN TRYING.

When everyone falls over themselves to cry that “This movie is awesome!” and “You have to watch it!” I’m expecting grandeur the likes of this movie – not the thin, fumbling transparency that was Frozen‘s sloppy plotline. So, suck it, haters – oh, and go see How to Train Your Dragon 2. It is so worth it.

Now, my favorite movie in the history of ever is The Lion King (seriously – I have three Simbas tattooed on my arm; there is no overstating my love of this movie). It’s prolly remained my favorite movie because within is a tale of horror, betrayal, depression, irresponsibility, responsibility, family, trust, loyalty, true malice and everything between.

It encapsulates an entire lifetime. I’ve yet to find a story that lives up to it – with just as much cuteness – until, it seems, meow.

Hiccup and Toothless in How to Train Your Dragon 2

Toothless is my favorite thing ever. Like, ever ever. Never mind that I already love dragons. Toothless’ cantankerous tantrums and tangible playfulness are of the utmost endearing quality. I think I actually like him more than I like Hiccup, and I like Hiccup. Boy do I ever like Hiccup.

Even better, however, is that the dragons neither steal the show nor succumb it – they share the personality of HTTYD2 with their human counterparts. And to marvelous results! There are new characters, yes – because how far do you really think it’d’ve gone without any? – but fresh faces melded well with old.

Tuffnut, Fishlegs, Astrid, Ruffnut in How to Train Your Dragon 2

In fact, our kids are all grown up now, more defined than ever, though their roles slightly reduced – no less vital to the story, however. That’s how you balance character involvement. That’s how you interweave subplots into the larger overall picture. That’s how you win over stubborn old fucks like me who spend months at a time nightly watching greats like the first How to Train Your Dragon, Hotel Transylvania, Brave, Mulan and Rio. When I wanna watch a movie on friendship and love, I won’t turn to fuckin’ Frozen; it’ll be this baby that I pop in. | SPOILER | AND YOU KNOW WHAT ELSE? THAT’S HOW YOU EXECUTE AN EFFECTIVE, IMPACTFUL MAJOR CHARACTER DEATH. FUCK’S SAKE. | END SPOILER |

Hiccup and Toothless in How to Train Your Dragon 2

HTTYD2 does everything – and I do mean everything – right. (Even my husband, who has very little concept of character or plot development at all, commended the progression of this sequel compared to the many, many others who’ve failed miserably in measuring up to their predecessors.) I hope the third one’s just as awesome. :D

Bonus: Gobber admit to being gay. Win! Another bonus: Toothless made the most adorable new friend ever, Cloud Jumper.

Toothless and Cloud Jumper in How to Train Your Dragon 2

Leave a Reply

