DNF Mini Reviews: Blood Brothers and The Queen’s Army

Image Posted on

Blood Brothers by Jody ZimmermanBlood Brothers by Jody Zimmerman

Rating: DNF

Thirty-three year old Philip Hampton is an award winning freelance writer and investigative journalist. His younger brother, Billy, an A-list New Yorker, is on the brink of stardom in the international art market.

Orphaned as children, the two brothers are the only family either has until Billy is murdered. Shattered by his brother’s death, Philip vows revenge.

During a visit to Billy’s studio, Philip discovers Billy’s final painting. Certain that the painting somehow holds clues to Billy’s murder, Philip begins to unlock the painting’s secrets.

He finds himself drawn into a frantic search for the treasures from the largest art theft in history—the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum Heist of 1990. Discovery of the treasure is Philip’s only hope of solving the murder, attaining retribution, and healing from emotional and sexual trauma from his childhood.

Y’all’ve prolly noticed that I’ve diverged a little from my norm of listing a DNF review also as a 1-star review, and I have a very good reason for that:

This book isn’t bad at all. In fact, if I just had more time in my day to read it, I would’ve finished it in a heartbeat. I’m well over halfway through with the book. The writing’s solid, the plot line is intriguing, the characters are fleshed out and the setting is superb – so what the fuck gives, right? Why didn’t I finish Blood Brothers if it was so goddamned great?

I’m at 58%. It’s taken me four months to get this far. I simply don’t have another four months to waste slowly picking my way through this book.

Again, I don’t discourage anyone from giving this book a shot. As for me, I’ll pass.

And honestly? There’s only so much I can stand to read of hoity-toity white folks with lavish homes, servants and furnishings, no matter how sexually charged they may be.

The Queen's Army by Marissa MeyerThe Queen’s Army by Marissa Meyer

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1.5

Rating: 1 of 5 stars/DNF

It is time. The boy must leave his family to serve in the Queen’s army. To be chosen is an honor. To decline is impossible. The boy is modified. He is trained for several years, and learns to fight to the death. He proves to the Queen—and to himself—that he is capable of evil. He is just the kind of soldier the Queen wants: the alpha of his pack.

You know, technically, I guess I kinda did finish this poor excuse for a book, but not really. I read about 20 pages, attempted to read another 5, skimmed the rest, tried to make sense of the last few paragraphs then finally decided I didn’t give that much of a shit.

I might be mostly annoyed because today is the first day of my #anhouraday reading promise to myself, and it caused me to fall short by like 15 minutes. ON THE FIRST DAY. C’MON.

Also, prolly not, because I likely am irritated that I wasted so much time trying to like this shitty novella.

Or I’m perplexed as to how so many people can throw all these stars at it and call it well-written.

I think I just need to stay away from the Lunar Chronicles novellas – seeing as how I barely even like the main novels, I can see why bothering with the novellas will only piss me off further.

2 thoughts on “DNF Mini Reviews: Blood Brothers and The Queen’s Army

    Zoe said:
    14 July 2014 at 538

    Aww…it’s a shame that you DNF’d these Sierra. :( I can definitely see why though! If you’ve been reading a book for 4 months and haven’t really been able to get into it yet, then it’s definitely time to give up on it – LOL!

    I’m not a fan of novellas in the first place, so, despite how much I love the Lunar Chronicles series, I just haven’t had the motivation to pick up Fairest. If you didn’t necessarily like the Lunar Chronicles series, then I guess it’s unlikely that you’d end up liking Fairest, you know?

    Thanks for sharing and, as always, BRILLIANT reviews! Sorry these were disappointing; and I hope your next read is better! <3

    Jeann @ Happy Indulgence said:
    19 July 2014 at 1255

    I wasn’t a big fan of the Queen’s Army either, even though I really love the series. I just couldn’t care enough about Wolf to enjoy that novella. Wow, I can’t believe it’s taken you so long to get through Blood Brothers! No wonder it was a DNF.

Leave a Reply

