Orange is the New Black, Season 1

Image Posted on

orange is the new black cover imageOrange is the New Black

Series: Season 1

Rating: 3 of 5 stars

The story of Piper Chapman, a woman in her thirties who is sentenced to fifteen months in prison after being convicted of a decade-old crime of transporting money for her drug-dealing girlfriend.

I realize it was a little backwards of me to watch the second season of Orange is the New Black before I watched the first, but I’m honestly kinda glad I did. Season 2 blew season 1 out of the water – except, I will say this: This show knows how to build to a climax.

It seems weird to have watched season 2’s exploratory depth and dimensionality compared to the almost vapid season 1, but I have a feeling that if I had watched season 1 first, it wouldn’t’ve been too much of an issue.

The cast of characters is a little more shallow, but seeing as how this is the first time around, it’s not all that surprising. What is surprising is that this is based on someone’s actual life.

I guess it begs the question: Is truth really stranger than fiction?

Because this is the kinda shit you can’t make up.

Taylor Schilling as Piper Chapmen in Orange is the New Black

I honestly don’t have much to say, except that I’m more excited for Weeds now than I was before (but 8 seasons, though! Ack!).

Also? This is only the first of my ventures into the wily land of Netflix and Hulu Plus that we’ve been paying for for over a year and not using. I finally set up the accounts on all the gamesystems in the house, so there will be more of these.

Hopefully. :]

Any recommendations? I’ve started Weeds and Naruto Shippûden.

2 thoughts on “Orange is the New Black, Season 1

    Jeann @ Happy Indulgence said:
    30 July 2014 at 540

    I haven’t watched this series yet but I’ve heard so many raves about it, that I know I need to pick it up! Glad to hear you enjoyed it.

      Sierra responded:
      30 July 2014 at 625

      Oh yeah. I marathoned both seasons. So worth it.

Leave a Reply

