“Machines” by Crown the Empire

Image Posted on Updated on

crowntheempire-machines“Machines” by Crown the Empire

Album: The Resistance: Rise of the Runaways

Crown the Empire is an American post-hardcore band formed in 2010 in Dallas, Texas. They have released one EP and two full-length albums, and have toured with acts such as We Came as Romans, Pierce the Veil, Attack Attack!, Issues, Like Moths to Flames, The Color Morale, Capture the Crown, Palisades, Asking Alexandria, and The Used.

So! I did not know this, but Crown the Empire is from Texas, apparently? If I’d’ve found that out sooner, I’d’ve given them a chance ages ago. I’m all about supporting Texan artists of every degree – from writers to artists to dancers to musicians, I take pride in the talent my home state produces.

Because it comes in so many different shades – like, for instance, damn good post-hardcore music the likes of Crown the Empire.

Crown the Empire is a band that I see creep up pretty often in the range of my musical tastes when browsing “suggested music” and “related artists” lists based on the bands I listen to already. I tend to be pretty leery of those because they can be oh, so wrong – for example, I cannot stand Mayday Parade (except for TWO songs by them), We the Kings, All Time Low, etc.

So when I see a suggestion, I mostly ignore it until the time becomes right to test the waters for myself and they prove themselves worthy by sticking around long enough to mistake for having longevity.

I’m happy to report that Crown the Empire is a standout in that crowd. This song, “Machines,” is the first I’ve ever heard from them, and it is a winner.

“Machines” starts off slow and soft with lyrics depicting a monotonous universe to meld discordantly with Andy Leo’s melodious vocals. And it stays that way, instruments building in the background, until the chorus kicks in, amping up into a heartfelt, full-on scream session with instrumentation to grind into your meninges and make you wanna knock the layer outta place.

There’s a careful balance of meaning and emphasis throughout the rollercoaster “Machines” that promises much from the newly released The Resistance: Rise of the Runaways. Rise Records knows what the fuck it’s doing. I look forward to diggin’ into what Crown the Empire is all about.

2 thoughts on ““Machines” by Crown the Empire

    Mishka Jenkins said:
    28 July 2014 at 614

    I’d never even heard of them before :D

    Zoe said:
    28 July 2014 at 349

    I haven’t heard of Crown the Empire before but I really like this song. Thanks for sharing Sierra! :)

Leave a Reply

