The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Image Posted on Updated on

The Amazing Spider-Man 2The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Series: The Amazing Spider-Man #2

Rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Peter Parker runs the gauntlet as the mysterious company Oscorp sends up a slew of super villains against him, impacting his life.

Aaaah, The Amazing Spider-Man.

I will say, first, that I was in no way, shape or form a fan of the original Spider-Man starring Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst.

I found the rebooted The Amazing Spider-Man that released in 2012 much higher quality film. The actors were better, the characters more fleshed out, the storyline infinitely more interesting. I was particularly taken with the actors, though. Andrew Garfield’s physique does his Spidey-suit wonders. I feel like such a creeper-weirdo for even admitting this, but I like the look of Garfield’s legs in the costume.

And just like everything.

Ever.

Ugh.

Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker, Spider Man in the Amazing Spider-Man 2

Sorry. Moving on.

So there’s that, but then there’s also Gwen Stacey (Emma Stone), and if you don’t think Emma Stone is the most gorgeous thing on this quarter of the globe, then I just dunno what to tell ya, bub. I’m not a fan of the blonde, or the haircut, but she pulls it off well for the role. Another tangent. But that woman is beautiful. Just had to get that out there.

Now, the running theme of The Amazing Spider-Man series is that Spider-Man’s allies all end up turning on him or dead – often, but not always, both. (It’s no secret, folks.) TASM2 does not defraud ye this trope. It happens. In droves. In this film. And it broke my heart over and over again.

Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker, Emma Stone as Gwen Stacey in the Amazing Spider-Man 2

The thing about TASM2 is that it’s supposed to break your heart. It patches it together with sweet, understanding moments, and then obliterates is all over again the next second. I’m getting off-track.

Anyway, so I loved this movie. I’m just really having a difficult time getting over what’s happening because I love these movies, but they’re so sad! (Jesus.) Luckily they’re not whiny like the last Spider-Man series – there’s a balance of the heartwarming and heartwrenching, comedic and consequential.

And I don’t know what it is about superhero movies lately, but they’re creating some really relateable, loveable villains.

First it’s The Avengers and Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and now I get to get all warm-and-fuzzy when I remember –

Jamie Foxx as Electro in the Amazing Spider-Man 2

No, not Electro (Jamie Foxx). Although he was probably the most realistic character right next to Peter Parker himself. I mean, of course, Harry Osborn:

Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker, Dane DeHann as Harry Osborn in the Amazing Spider-Man 2

That fuckin’ little cutie.

This is a guy who’s desperate. Who just needs help, but can’t get what it is he’s looking for. Then does whatever he can to do just that. He’s my favorite kind of villain – he’s the hero of his own story. I both hate him and hate to love him. Hell, I even love him. It’s just like that. He and Peter Parker butting heads makes me giddy and makes me miserable. I don’t know how else to explain it.

I have no idea what to expect from the next sequel, but I know it’s got a million ways it can go, and very few of them won’t annihilate my feels.

Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker in the Amazing Spider-Man 2
I feel ya, Parker.

2 thoughts on “The Amazing Spider-Man 2

    Jeann @ Happy Indulgence said:
    8 June 2014 at 422

    Sounds great, I preferred the new movies over the old one too. Havent had the chance to watch this yet but i look forward to it.

      Sierra responded:
      8 June 2014 at 524

      It’s a good one. :D

Leave a comment