Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Image Posted on Updated on

Hush, Hush by Becca FitzpatrickHush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Series: Hush, Hush #1

Rating: 1 of 5 stars/DNF

When Nora and Patch are forced together as lab partners, Nora would rather fall to her death than put up with his elusive answers to her questions, his teasing, and his infuriatingly handsome face and hypnotizing eyes. It seems Patch was put on earth just to drive her crazy.

But before long, Nora’s defenses start to break down as her curiosity about Patch heats up. Why does he always seem to be wherever she is and know exactly what she’s thinking? How does he know what to say to both attract and repulse her? And what is up with those V-shaped scars on his chiseled back?

As their connection grows stronger, Nora’s own life becomes increasingly fragile. Nora needs to decide: Is Patch the one who wants to do her harm or the one who will keep her safe? Has she fallen for one of the fallen?

One star is about 8,000 stars too many.

I tried to tough it out, but there are no forces in this universe or any other that can get me through the rest of this book. Or this series. Which I’m sure is just as riddled with horrendous examples of HOW NOT TO WRITE as the first page of the prologue is. Personally, if I had my way, I’d deliver Becca Fitzpatrick a slug or two to the jaw and hopefully it’d resonate in her characters, too; because, as I am made all too aware by the fact that I couldn’t even FINISH, I know full well they, too, deserve it. And more.

PATCH (a name which, by the by, Fitzpatrick, ain’t dashing or dangerous or anything of the nature… just plain dumb) is a relentless asshole FOR NO REASON and honestly I suspect him of multiple counts of sexual deviance. My biggest piece of advice to him is: If you’re gonna kill someone, KILL EM, don’t flirt with ’em in biology. Also: make up your fuckin’ mind.

NORA GREY IS AN IMBECILE. PERIOD POINT BLANK. She’s clueless and impulsive in a way that makes me want to slit my wrists whenever I’m forced into her head by the narration.

RIXON is just there for the fuck of bein’ there. Nothing about him makes much sense to me. I suspect him more of sexual deviance than I do Patch. The weird play fight at Bo’s Arcade? Uh… maybe no one notified Fitz that teenage boys don’t rip each others’ shirt off in the middle of a public establishment like damned animals unless they have *certain* goals in mind. NO ON GIVES A DAMN ABOUT PATCH’S RETARDED SCARS. THANKS FOR SHOVIN’EM IN MY FACE OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN ANYWAY FITZY.

And why Vee? She’s about as shallow as a piss puddle. She’s constantly tellin Nora that Patch is TEH EVIL WUNN but she always backpedals or sidesteps it because he’s apparently TEH HAUTZ TEWW. I… don’t wanna know what universe that makes sense in… ever.

…Aaaaaand that was about as much as I could handle without stormin into the kitchen and chunkin that book, THAT BOOK I PAID SHIPPING AND HANDLING ALL THE WAY TO GERMANY FOR, into the sodden garbage, where I believe every other copy should end up. By golly, if I could make that happen, I would do it ten times over. Just to make sure.

5 thoughts on “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

    Epilogue by C.J. Roberts « Caps Lock Thinks said:
    20 January 2014 at 748

    […] devotion for the rest of her book-writing career until she puts out something as painful as Hush, Hush. I’m afraid that’s the only thing that can keep me from gobbling up every story she […]

    Flutter by Gina Linko « Caps Lock Thinks said:
    20 January 2014 at 847

    […] around two characters whose relationship is literally the epicenter of their existences. (Think: Hush, Hush, Twilight, more books on my “nah playa that shit ain’t me” shelf than you can […]

    […] Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1) by Becca Fitzpatrick […]

    […] Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1) by Becca Fitzpatrick […]

    […] Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1) by Becca Fitzpatrick […]

Leave a comment